Board of Education

The MPSD School Board consists of seven members who are responsible for establishing policies in accordance with state law regarding students, personnel, educational programs, facilities, equipment, and relations with the community. The Board establishes the budget and has fiscal control. The superintendent serves as the Chief Executive Officer and offers recommendations to the Board when developing and administering District philosophy, goals, and revisions to Board policies.

Unlike the City Council and County Board, members are elected “at large,”  meaning they represent the entire school district and not any designated portion. Citizens may contact any or all Board members but should be aware that members have no authority as individuals, only as they meet together as a Board. 

Correspondence can be sent to Board Secretary Laurie Braun, MPSD Administration Office 2902 Lindbergh Drive Manitowoc, WI 54220.  Please contact her with questions at 920-686-4783 or email at


Dave NickelsPresident Dave Nickels
(920) 242-0899

First Elected April 2016 - term expires April 2022                            

Vice President Lisa Johnston
 (920) 726-4992
First Elected April 2018 - term expires April 2022

Willis, KTreasurer Board Member Kathy Willis
First Elected April 2020 - term expires April 2023


C BraunelBoard Member Collin Braunel
First Elected April 2021 - term expires April 2023

M SauerBoard Member Meredith Sauer
(920) 860-6881
First Elected April 2019 - term expires April 2022


S SoeldnerBoard Member Stacey E. Soeldner
(920) 973-9238
First Elected April 2021 - term expires April 2024

K TraskBoard Member Kerry Trask
First Appointed January 2021 - term expires April 2024      

Buildings and Grounds:  Chair Lisa Johnston, Kerry Trask & Collin Braunel

Curriculum: Chair Meredith Sauer, Kathy Willis & Stacey Soeldner

Finance and Budget:  Chair Kathy Willis, Lisa Johnston & Collin Braunel

Personnel:  Chair Kerry Trask, Meredith Sauer & Stacey Soeldner

Employee Relations:  President Dave Nickels, Vice-President/Clerk Lisa Johnston, Treasurer- Kathy Willis

City Recreation Board:  Dave Steavpack (Representative)

Administrative Relations:  Board President Dave Nickels, Finance Chair Kathy Willis &  Personnel Chair Kerry Trask

Drug-Free Schools/AODA/Human Growth & Development - Stacey Soeldner
School Forest -  Collin Braunel
Gifted & Talented - Meredith Sauer
Business Education Partnership Council - Lisa Johnston

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Manitowoc Public School District