MINUTES OF BOARD MEETING Manitowoc Board of Education April 26, 2016

A special meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by Superintendent Mark Holzman at 12:00 p.m. Members present were Ms. Linda Gratz, Ms. Barbara Herrmann, Ms. Elizabeth Williams, Mr. Dave Nickels, Ms. Karen Rohrer, Ms. Catherine Shallue, and Mr. Keith Shaw. Also present were Superintendent Mark Holzman and Board secretary Rebecca McLafferty.

Superintendent Mark Holzman began the organizational meeting by reviewing the procedure for conducting School Board elections.

Barbara Herrmann nominated Keith Shaw for the office of President. Elizabeth Williams nominated Linda Gratz. Linda Gratz respectfully declined the nomination. Catherine Shallue nominated Barbara Herrmann. There being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Ballots were distributed and the subsequent vote resulted in Keith Shaw receiving 5 votes and Barbara Herrmann receiving 2 votes. Keith Shaw was declared Board President.

Keith Shaw assumed duties of Board President and presided over the remainder of the meeting.

Barbara Herrmann nominated Linda Gratz for the office of Vice-President/Clerk. There being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Motion was made by Dave Nickels and supported by Barbara Herrmann to dispense of paper ballots for this election. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Linda Gratz was unanimously elected as the Vice-President/Clerk.

Keith Shaw nominated Karen Rohrer for the office of Treasurer. Catherine Shallue nominated Barbara Herrmann. There being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Ballots were distributed and the subsequent vote resulted in Karen Rohrer receiving 6 votes and Barbara Herrmann receiving 1 vote. Karen Rohrer was declared Treasurer.

The district is allowed to annually appoint a Board Secretary who is a non-Board member. On motion by Linda Gratz, seconded by Barbara Herrmann, Rebecca McLafferty was unanimously appointed as Board Secretary.

The district is allowed to annually appoint a Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Clerk who is a non-Board member. On motion by Catherine Shallue, seconded by Karen Rohrer, Ken Mischler was unanimously appointed as Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Clerk.

Board President Shaw requested that Board members wishing to change committees contact him after the Board meeting.

On motion by Linda Gratz, seconded by Catherine Shallue, Barbara Herrmann was unanimously approved as the District Representative to attend the 2016 CESA Convention in Ashwaubenon, WI, on May 11, 2015.

Motion was made by Elizabeth Williams, seconded by Catherine Shallue, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting at 12:13 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Rebecca McLafferty, Secretary

Keith Shaw Board President